AuThursday – Celine Chatillon

In honor of our  Of Flesh and Blood Release next Monday October 8th.  I’ve resurrected an interview I did with Celine shortly after Help I’m Falling for the Vampire Next Door was released.  Here you go:

Q: How long have you been writing?

Forever and a day! At least it seems that way. I wrote my first “book” when I was about five years old. Actually, my mother took dictation and I illustrated it. It was about talking salt and pepper shakers that came to life at night and had wild parties with other condiments on the dinner table. Hmm… It’s still a cute idea. I wish I knew where that manuscript was now!

Q: Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it?

I suffer from “writer’s panic” more than block. I can always write something, but I can’t always write what I want to sometimes and it’s frustrating. I just get too tired, too stressed or whatever. Only time and a swift kick in the pants to make myself sit back down at the keyboard helps. The best thing is to do what you do when you fall off your bicycle—you get back on and start pedaling again. Eventually the phase will pass.

Q: What were your feelings when your first novel was accepted/when you first saw the cover of the finished product?

I was thrilled when my first novel was accepted, but a little sad that I didn’t get official confirmation until a month or so after my father’s death. He would have loved to know that I sold my novel.

The cover of the finished product… well, let’s not go there. Let’s say it left a lot to be desired in both design and execution. (I’m revising and republishing the story again very soon. Hopefully it will have a better cover this time out.)

I just really thrilled to have such a wonderful cover for Help! I’m Falling for the Vampire Next Door . Liquid Silver puts out some awesome cover artwork, don’t they?

Q: What do you do to unwind and relax?

I read or write some more. (Silly but true.) I also sing with a championship women’s barbershop chorus. I’m not sure how “unwinding” the singing is lately, as we’re rehearsing for a big show and then we’re off to international competition in just a little over a month’s time. Wish us luck! (http://www.riverblenders.org)

Q: Are you working on any books/projects that you would like to share with us? (We’ d love to hear all about them!)

Yes, I’m cooking up several new things for Liquid Silver Books… I’ve finished the first draft to the sequel to Help! I’m Falling for the Vampire Next Door and I hope to get it revised and ready to go here in the next month or so. It’s Shelby’s story (Melynda’s cousin) and this time the hero is a time traveler. (Melynda’s boyfriend Val is a vampire.) I’m calling this paranormal erotic-romance series “The Paranormal Lovers of St. Louis” since it’s set in the city I currently reside, St. Louis. For book three in the series I’m thinking of an invisible alien as the hero… I can see all kinds of humorous and sexy adventures possible there.

I’m also signed up to write another vampire story for an anthology tentatively entitled, Of Flesh and Blood. I thought I’d write a story about Val’s uncle, Vladimir, and how he first encounters Leo Van Helsing, the psycho-villain of Help! I’m Falling for the Vampire Next Door. I enjoyed creating these two characters immensely, so I’m looking forward to bringing them together again in an action-packed thriller of love and betrayal.

Q: Do you have a favorite hero in all your books? For any particular reason?

Ooo… that’s a toughie. I love them all in their own special ways. I really have a thing right now for Quentin, the hero of my upcoming time traveler novel. (Tentative title: Hey, I’m Hanging with a Time Surfer) Quentin is very wild and very free and helps Shelby our heroine to “loosen up” a bit as they jump around space and time. I really wish time travel was possible now so Quentin could take me on a few “trips” as well! 
 

Thanks for the questions! Readers are free to contact me at celinechatillon@hotmail.com or to check out my other books online at http://www.celinechatillon.com

One comment on “AuThursday – Celine Chatillon

  1. “Resurrected” interview–how apropriate an adjective for a vampire anthology author!! 😉

    Thanks again, Tina. You can “clog blog” me anyday!

    Like

Comments are closed.