AuThursday – Lyn Armstrong

Last Celtic Witch

I met Lyn at a Romantic Times Convention in 2004 and we have been close friends ever since.  I pestered her mercilessly until she agreed to an interview.  So here it is!

Welcome Lyn!  Tell us a little bit about your new book with Resplendance, The Last Celtic Witch.

Yes, I do have a new book out, THE LAST CELTIC WITCH. It is the first book of the Celtic Series.

Pursued by evil forces for her powers, recluse Adela MacAye foresees her own agonizing death. She must seek the chosen one to produce an heir and pass on her Celtic powers. To fail would be the end of good magick, plunging the world into darkness. Conjuring a fertility spell she is led to a sensual chieftain who is betrothed to the sorceress that hunts her. Time is running out as fate and the future pursue her.

Plagued by enemies and undermined by sabotage, handsome Laird Phillip Roberts must save his clan from a bloody feud with an alliance through marriage … a marriage he does not want.  After a night of white-hot sensual delights with the alluring witch, his heart commands he break the pledge of peace. With treachery around every corner, will he be too late to save … The Last Celtic Witch?Q: How long have you been writing?

 I’ve been writing since I was a child. Mostly short stories and poems. It wasn’t until I was in my early twenties, that I tried my hand at writing romance novels. I would like to say that was only yesterday, but in fact, it was about 11 years ago. 

Q: What advice would you give to writers just starting out? 

Join a writers group and find a critique partner. Not only will these people help you learn the craft of writing, but they will support you when times are rough. And believe me, not too many writers can boast of being published without receiving countless rejection letters from publishers. I feel only another writer can understand the heartache of getting rejection after rejection for their manuscript. Even more important is to be persistent. Never give up, no matter what. Being published is a numbers game, the more times you submit, the better your chances of finding a publisher who loves your work.

Q: How did you deal with rejection letters, if you received any?

 LOL, I received many. Once I read the rejection letter I would immediately put it in a folder marked “Unworthy Editor.” Which to me just means that editor does not have the same vision as I do. Then I would go back to the drawing board. No matter how much I wanted to crawl into a hole and cry, I remained focus on my goal of being published. The more writing workshops I attended and the more books I wrote, the better I got.  

Q: What, in your opinion, are the most important elements of good writing? 

Characterization, dialogue, sexual tension and GMC (goals, motivation and conflict) Plus having good grammar is a must. Don’t rely on others to fix your grammar mistakes. Learn the craft. Buy the grammar books, and do the workshops. I know it’s boring, but you’ll be proud of yourself once you know the rules.

Q: What were your feelings when your first historical erotic romance, The Last Celtic Witch was accepted and when you first saw the cover of the finished product? 

When Jessica Berry, Editor of Resplendence Publishing, called me to say she wanted to offer me a contract, I thought she was kidding. I was waiting for her say, “Ha, ha. Had you fooled.” LOL. When it finally hit me she was deadly serious, I was ecstatic. I couldn’t wait for her to get off the phone so I could scream the house down.After I was sent the finally book cover for  THE LAST CELTIC WITCH, I was overjoyed. The artist captured the perfect heroine’s face on the cover. When I was writing the heroine’s story, the face on the cover was the exact face I had in mind. It was like the cover artist plucked her out of my mind and put her on the cover. She is so beautiful. And of course, who could resist the hero’s body on the cover as well. The drool factor alone has generated a lot of interest in the cover. In fact, my book cover has placed 4th in the Covey Awards.

Q: Are you working on any books/projects that you would like to share with us? (We’ d love to hear all about them!)

Yes, I am working on the second book in the Celtic Series, THE WITCH AND THE SORCERER. It follows the life of the heroine and her enchanted children from The Last Celtic Witch. The sorcerer is a very bad boy, but so deliciously sexy, you can’t help but lust over him. While a captured witch is the only woman who welds the sexual power to tame the wild beast. My readers will find a big surprise in the second novel. I have pushed the boundaries even further than the first.

Q: Any recent appearances that you would like to share with us about or any upcoming ones? 

My next booksigning will be at the Miami Book Fair – Nov 11, 2007. Look for me at Murder on the Beach booth. I will be doing a lot of booksignings around America this year and next. I’m in the process of setting up a calender on my website, www.LynArmstrong.com. Feel free to visit for locations or to sign up on my mailing list. 

Q: What is the hottest love scene you have written to date and why? 

I love, love, love to write hot sex scenes, so to chose one is really hard. No pun intended. LOL. I love when my characters have sex that is out of the ordinary. Where it shows the reader an insight into their unique character. I feel you can learn a lot about a person by the way they make love. Even a person’s vulnerabilities or lack of inhibitions can come out in a sex scene. There is something to say about a character when she/he loses control to passion, yet still holds something back, an underlining fear. I like my sex scenes to not only be hot as hell, but to show a different side to the characters that a reader may not see otherwise.

Q: What are the best reveiws to-date-so-far on your book? 

I have had the best reviews on THE LAST CELTIC WITCH, receiving 41/2 stars on my book. This goes beyond my expectations. 

Read what the reviews have to say:

 The manipulation and intrigues found throughout the story kept me reading to see how things would turn out in the end. I found myself happily caught up in the exciting action of the story. This is a mesmerizing tale in which dark magic uses intrigue and manipulation to succeed in the battle between good versus evil. Their only hope is that the power of love will give courage and strengthen the power of one small woman …THE LAST CELTIC WITCH.

 4 1/2 Star, Anita, Romance Junkies Reviewer

The Last Celtic Witch is a story rich in history, and imagination. I could literally feel what it must have been like to live in times whenbeing different could cost you your life. The villain of this piece is so well drawn that you catch your breath in terror of what she is going to do next. Adela as the woman alone who is desperate to find love and in so doing continue her family line is exceptional. Phillip is honorable, but he is not perfect, and I liked how Ms. Armstrong gave him suitable flaws. The Last Celtic Witch is a keeper and not one you will want to miss!

4 Stars, Regina, Reviewer for Coffee Time Romance 

This novella weaves classic elements of love, loyalty, duty and good vs. evil into a compelling tale. The drama of two competing witches heightens the suspense. The setting of historical Scotland is appealing. The sensual elements of this story are strong and varied, including same-sex and threesome scenes.

4 StarsJennifer R. Wells-Marani

Romantic Times Magazine Reviewer

Q:  How hard is it to keep love scenes fresh and interesting?

As an erotic author, it is very hard to keep the scenes fresh and original. You can’t use the same phrases or certain sexual positions as you did in the last novel. But somehow, it all comes together. My fantasy life is very active, and the characters seem to have a life of their own, I just type their story

Q: Where can readers fing you on the World Wide Web?

www.LynArmstrong.com 

www.myspace.com/readlynarmstrong

www.ResplendencePublishing.com

