Etienne D’Artagnan

Time Traveler

Time Traveler

I’d like to introduce you all to Etienne D’Artagnan!  I’ve met Etienne through our shared publisher – Liquid Silver Books.  Well let’s jump right into shall we?

 

Q: How long have you been writing?

I have been writing seriously for about five years but I have only just been published, In Alien Arms with Liquid Silver Books and the Time Traveler series with Mojocastle Press.

Q: What, in your opinion, are the most important elements of good writing? 

I feel that a good plot and likable characters are first, followed closely by a good beginning and lots of action.  A writer must also pay close attention to spelling and grammar as well as the flow of the story.  You must make the reader want to spend time with your characters, to live in your world for a few hours and experience the things that are happening there.  You must also make sure your facts are correct and your action is believable for your reader.

Q: How do you develop your plots and characters? Do you use any set formula?  

I start by thinking “What if…” and then begin to ask myself what happens next.  Sometimes I will model a character on someone that I know, a quirk they have or maybe something which has happened to them.  For instance Desah, the alien hero of In Alien Arms is modeled on my very close friend, while Sophie the heroine is modeled on a cousin.  And yes I even use myself; I am very like both Nevada in In Alien Arms and Cody my Time Traveler.  I do not have a set formula; an idea for a plot can come from anywhere, a movie or something I have seen on television, even just a picture I have found on the internet.  You never know when inspiration will strike.

Q: What do you do to unwind and relax? 

Writing is such a solitary thing, when I am not working I like to spend time with Margaret and Sheldon.  We make a date of every Friday night to watch a movie and just enjoy each other’s company.  Currently we are watching Poirot mysteries.  

Q: What´s coming up on your schedule, book-wise, in the next year?  

I have the next Nine Worlds story, the Time Traveller series for Mojocastle Press, I am participating in an anthology of dark faerie stories at Liquid Silver Books, and there are several works in progress.  I will be very busy this year indeed.

Q: In your books so far what is The Best Come-on-line?

“Ever play with hot wax?”

Q: What is your favorite quote?   

Oh my, from my own books?  I don’t really know…Probably this one:

“There are only two good things about this rock,” he said.

I smiled. “And what would that be?”

“Well one just went inside,” he said.

“And the other?” I moved my fingers through his hair in small circles.

“I think you already know the answer to that,” he smiled.

 

Q: What are the best reviews to date so far on your books?

I have recently received a 4.5 and Reviewer top pick for In Alien Arms from Night Owl Romance and a 4.5 cherries for the second episode in my Tome Traveler series from Whipped Cream.

Q:  Does a hero always have to be good looking and why or why not?

I think he does need to be in most cases; however I have read books where the hero was not.  It takes an exceptional writer to make the readers fall in love with someone who is not good looking.  But on the other hand beauty is definitely in the eye of the beholder and there are people who are not particularly above ordinary until they smile.

 

Q:  Where can reader’s find you on the World Wide Web? 

I can be found at http://www.etiennedartagnan.com there are links to all my works there.

Thanks for joining us Etienne!  Join me Saturday when we get to read a Sexcerpt from one of Etienne’s books.  How Naughty!

Tina Holland

Have you been Naughty today?

One comment on “Etienne D’Artagnan

  1. Great interview Tina!

    @ Etienne: I agree with you that plot and great characters are the most important parts of crafting a story. The other stuff if icing on the cake, but any worthwhile story has those two elements at its center.

    I also love Hercule Poirot! I like the series that stars David Suchet as Poirot. Agatha Christie is such a master of suspense and mystery, and Poirot is a great character.

    Like

Comments are closed.