Voilet Summers

Did you know that Voilet Summers is actually Two Authors writing as one person.  That’s the joy of working on the inside.  You find out these things. 🙂

Shall We get to it then?  Of course.

Q:  What is your process for writing a book? For example, are you a plotter or a pantzer? Do you start at page 1 and write your book sequentially or do you skip around? Do you start with your characters or the plot?

 

Sierra-VJ and I sit down in front of a computer and make a timeline based on an idea. We brainstorm and write down scenes in order from beginning to the end. We divide the scenes between us and pass the manuscript back and forth until the story is finished. We then take an additional look or two to check grammar and spelling, do chapter breaks etc….

VJ – I usually end up adding a couple thousand words during those additional “looks or two”!

 

 

Q:  Do you use any techniques, tools, or aids to help you write?

 

Sierra- For me it’s all about the music. I get most of the ideas from a particular song or group. I can be driving along and a song will come on and a scene will form in my head. The Worthington’s were written to 30 seconds to Mars. One of our stories was inspired by Shinedown’s song .45. Another idea scene for a book still waiting to be written came from the Rush song Tom Sawyer.

VJ – Sierra made me a couple of cd’s of “music to write by.”  I’m the visual one – I usually have a picture of my hero someplace visible while I’m writing.  I also live by the timeline Sierra and I begin each book with – I’m constantly referring back to it.

 

Q: How do you make time to write?

 

Sierra- Whenever I can. I home school one of my three kids; I am heavily involved in school activities and other things that seem to take a lot of time. So whenever I have a few hours to squeeze in I do. I try to write everyday even if it’s only for a half an hour.

VJ – This is a hard one for me – I’ve got one of those day jobs that regularly calls for 10 or 12 hour days.  I usually write for an hour or so just before bed during the week, and for several hours early on Saturday and Sunday.  Of course when the book is on fire, I might write for 8 or 9 hours straight – that happened several times during Daniel’s Surrender.

 

Q: What advice do you have for other writers?

 

Sierra- Write what you love. You can’t force a story just because the genre may be popular; it will show in your story. Follow the publisher’s submissions guidelines, even if you may not understand them. They are set up for a reason and it would suck if you were rejected because the guideline wasn’t followed.

VJ – Proof read, proof read, and then proof read again.  “The” does NOT equal “they”!!

 

 

Q: If you weren’t writing, what would you be doing?

Sierra- the same thing I do now. Raise my kids, enjoy my friends and read a lot more than I am able to now that I write…lol

VJ – Probably the same thing I’m doing now – maybe taking a couple of college classes, too.

 

Q: What books can we expect to see in the near future?

Sierra- We have a spin-off of the Worthington’s that we are working on subtitled Jenner’s Law. There are at least three more stories to the Night Creatures. We are also working on a new paranormal series about a large family of women who are the heroes. That’s about all I can reveal at the moment.

VJ – She’s got something like 30 folders of story ideas on her desktop.  I keep threatening to break her car radio if she comes up with ONE MORE storyline!

 

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

violetsummers.com

Join me on Saturday When VJ and Sierra share a Steamy Excerpt with us!  See  you then!

Tina

 

 

