AuThursday – Lisa Marie

tdd_banner_lisamarie

Q: How long have you been writing?

A: Roughly since about the time I knew how to spell. I’ve always scribbled stuff down. Most of it awful. I didn’t finish my first actual manuscript until nine years ago or so.

Q: I absolutely adore your Southern Comfort series at Liquid Silver Books. How do you develop your plots and characters? Do you use any set formula?

A: Thank you so much. I wish I could say I was this disciplined, always at my computer writing notes and more notes and synopsis and outlines….but I’m not. Generally, I get a flash of something in my head; a scene, a specific line, even just a name of a character. Then I might think on it a little longer, sit down and write the first chapter and get an idea for who the characters are, what their problems are. For Southern Comfort, I was fascinated with the idea of a right wing, bible readin’ good Ol’ boy falling for a very liberal woman, and it literally fell out from there. Took me five days to write it, because Rain and Travis just spoke to me. I wish I could say the others were as easy. Keith and Grace (Broken Road) were born roughly of resovling my own anger about a past relationship and changing the ending of it a bit. I was trying to see if I could redeem a man that walked away. And wow, did I go on. No, I do not use a set formula. My mind works with whatever I’m interested in.

Q: What´s coming up on your schedule, book-wise, in the next year?

A: Coming soon from Liquid Silver is my newest release. Two Doors Down is awaiting the cover and a release date, which will hopefully be soon. I decided to dabble with the younger man/older woman idea with that one.

Q: What is the hottest love scene you’ve written and why do you feel that way?

A: That’s a tough one, because I am notoriously hyper critical of my own work. Especially the love scenes. They are hard to write because you don’t want to say repeat yourself or sound silly. But, I think the interlude that Travis and Rain have in the limousine in the first chapter is my favorite. There’s very little talking and it’s all about them succumbing to the attraction between them.

Q: Which of your books was the hardest to write and why?

A: I’d say Broken Road. Like I said above, it touched on a past relationship that I had, where the man basically stayed a loser as far as I was concerened and his children. It’s funny where inspiration comes from. I guess I purged a lot of ghosts in that one. But gave it the happy ending I didn’t get with him in real life. I plan to write something similar to my husband’s and mine relationship too. To prove that happy endings can happen even if you don’t expect them.

Q: Which country would you most like to visit and why?

A: There is no country other than the US that I desperately need to see. There’s so much here that I would love to discover, in Arizona, Hawaii, not to mention I live within throwing distance of Washington DC, that I don’t see any time in the future to go abroad.

Q: Which hero is your favorite and why?

A: That’s easy. Mark Lynch from Touch of Evil. He’s more the secondary character in that story, but he was really a labor of love. The ultimate tortured hero, with the looks and bad attitude to match.

Q: And which heroine?

A: Grace Lee from Broken Road, because she’s feisty. She took a bad situation (teen pregnancy, having to raise the baby alone and not leaving town) and made it her own. She held her ground and became a respected part of the community despite what could be considered an unfortunate situation. Remember, there are no strangers in small towns.

Q: Where does your writer’s soul feel most at home?

A: Upstairs in my bedroom, wrapped up in comfy jammies and tapping out at a story on my laptop. Or in those same jammies writing with a favorite pen and fresh notebook. Two Doors Down was written completely in a spiral notebook.

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

 A: Anytime anyone wants to find little ole me, they can hop write over to www.lisamscott.org and I always love to receive emails that tell me I’m brilliant (ha ha) at Jypzrose@aol.com.

