AuThursday – Monette Michaels aka Rae Morgan

Congrats Naughty Girls (and Boys)!  You are in for a treat today.  It’s a two for one.  We have Monette Michaels who also writes as Rae Morgan joining us today.  Let’s get to it shall we?

Q: How long have you been writing?

Since 1997.         

 

Q: What advice would you give to writers just starting out?

First, write.  Get your ideas on paper.  Then comes the important part, get your writing out there, be it in a writing group or with critique partners or even a creative writing class.  By getting feedback, you’ll see what areas of your writing that need to be worked on.  Learn to self-edit – – hone your craft.

Q: Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it?

Yes!  Life intrudes – – personal and business lives often sap all my energy and I have nothing left for my creative side.  When life happens, there is not much I can do.  In order to write, I need to be able to dream – – and when my life is stressful, I don’t dream or if I do, I can’t recall them.  What do I do?  I try to get my life back on track so I can write.  Once the other issues are out of the way, I have no trouble writing.  Each person has to learn how to deal with writer’s block.  I have no pearls of wisdom. 

Q: How did you deal with rejection letters, if you received any?

Oh yeah, I have received a lot of them.  Most of them were positive rejections in that they complimented my writing but felt that my work did not fit into their particular agency or publishing house.  How do I deal?  I put them in a file and go on.  Someone out there will like what I write – I have been lucky in finding two publishes who liked all the things I write.  I’m pretty loyal and so I stick with the people who stick by me.  If Fate happens to throw another publisher in my way (or an agent), I’ll consider it.  For now, I really don’t need to put my work out there, I am happy where I am.

Q: What, in your opinion, are the most important elements of good writing?

There are all styles of writing.  I am a tight writer so for me plotting and voice are important since I don’t do a lot of flowery embroidering with lengthy descriptive narrative as in historicals or literary fiction.  Self-editing is extremely important.

Q: How do you develop your plots and characters? Do you use any set formula?

No set formula.  I am a pantser.  I usually dream about a beginning of a story.  The characters develop as needed, then they often take over.  LOL.  Once I have the first two or three chapters down (this takes the longest for me, usually), then the rest of the story flows.  There are times I will do a plot-point outline, which is an outline that identifies the main points which I have to hit before I type The End.  But this outline is very basic, just a few words or a sentence or two stating what has to happen.

Q: What tools do you feel are must-haves for writers?

As in physical tools or mental tools?  I’ll take it literally as physical tools.  A computer is, of course, essential.  Word processing programs allow ease of editing and cutting and pasting just in case a scene in Chapter Three needs to go to Chapter Six.  A good dictionary, thesaurus and a Style Manual.  I do not rely on the built-in dictionaries, thesaurus or grammar suggestions in the word processing programs because they are not complete.  I like the American Heritage dictionary, Roget’s Thesaurus and the Chicago Manual of Style.  Another tool – a good set of critique buddies.  I love constructive criticism and good crit buddies give only constructive criticism.  I also have a small group of beta-readers for the finished draft.

Q: Are you working on any books/projects that you would like to share with us? (We’ d love to hear all about them!)

I just submitted the first book in a proposed science fiction romance series to Liquid Silver Books.  It is called Prime Obsession, Book 1 in the Prime Chronicles.  The story is about the oldest humanoid race in the Milky Way Galaxy facing extinction.  The stories will feature Prime males searching for mates outside their particular species and finding them where they least expected. There will be a subplot in all the stories about a radical faction on the home planet who wants to keep the Prime species pure even if it means they become extinct.

I have a romantic suspense book written as Monette Michaels for Atlantic Bridge, Vested Interests, which I have completely revised and added new scenes for Liquid Silver’s Sterling line.  It is in edits now.  The heroine is a lawyer whose life is threatened and the man who loves her and vows to protect her. 

Finally, I am working on the first in the Talisman books for the Terran Realm, an urban fantasy shared universe I created for Liquid Silver Books.  The book is called Earth Awakened and features Lily Redfern, an Earth Keeper, who finds she is the prophesied Talisman who will save the Earth from disasters threatening to destroy all life on the planet. 

Q: If you could leave your readers with one legacy, what would you want it to be?

The good guys win and romance endures.

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

I have two sites since I write under two names:

Rae Morgan writes sexier romantic suspense. www.raemorgan.com

Monette Michaels writes romantic suspense and mystery/thrillers.  www.monettemichaels.com

