AuThursday – Savanna Kougar

Welcome Naughty Boys and Girls.  Savanna Kougar joins us today.  And She’s included an Excerpt from one of her books.  Read on:

Q: What advice would you give to writers just starting out?

 

Currently, I would suggest looking carefully at the NY print publishers in comparison with the small print/e-book publishers. Which career path do you, as an aspiring author, want to travel? Which one suits you and your writing best? Take a look at the authors you admire. Who are they published with? What is their *I’m now published* story? Do you as an aspiring author, only want to be a NY print author? Did your fave authors begin with e-books, in order, to jump in and eventually publish with the big print houses? Or, are they basically happy building a career with the small/e-book publishers?

 

Q What were your feelings when your first novel was accepted/when you first saw the cover of the finished product?

 

Wondrous, excited… almost disbelieving. It’s been a very long road for me. I also felt accomplished, even knowing it was merely a beginning.

 

 

Q: Are you working on any books/projects that you would like to share with us? (We’d love to hear all about them!)

 

Oh no! Not all of them! That would take several pages since I have tons o’ wips. However, I just sent off my first ménage, a contracted novel with Siren-BookStrand, titled ~ HER INSATIABLE DARK HEROES. Here’s the blurbie to date:

 

How many Superheroes does it take to satisfy the one woman who dances like a fire goddess? Answer: the four Dark Valorous Brothers of Chrontropolis.

Before the weather wars destroyed her world, Wendra was the girl next door, except for her dancing talent and her desire to become a top performer. When she is rescued from her own desperate attempt to fly inside her flame by Dark Zavier, then claimed by the four Dark Valorous brothers, she has no idea to how cope with their primitive insatiable sexual needs, or their passionate longing to bond with her.

On top of that, her own super power, the ability to use flame as a weapon, is becoming stronger by the day, even if it remains useless against the Dark Brothers’ determination to master her. Still, how does she make her own blazing mark, in the new world of Superheroes and Super Villains?

 

I’ll also be writing another ménage for Siren-BookStrand titled ~ BRANDED BY THE TEXANS. You can’t tell by the title, but the story is a fusion of paranormal romance subgenres.

 

And, right now, I’m writing a shifter romance novella from a man’s POV, titled ~ STALLION OF ASH AND FLAME. This is the crude working blurbie:

What happens when a man-stallion of ash and flame on a mission from another world, wants a Earth woman he’s not supposed to have, yet must protect at all costs from their horde of enemies. His world depends on it, her world depends on it. And his heart comes to depend on it.

 

Q: What is the hottest love scene you’ve written to date and why?

Wow, no fair! My heroines and heroes would hotly disagree with any choice I might make. Although, truthfully, I don’t have one I consider the hottest. That being said… here’s snippet scene from HER INSATIABLE DARK HEROES ~ that, well, judge for yourself.

“SlashFlame Kitten,” Zion groaned. With one finger he tenderly separated her wet curls. Carefully he pulled back the flesh of her mound with his fingertip. Wendra almost screamed, the pleasure softly ripping up her belly. “God, you’ve got to see her clit. It’s huge. Red and gleaming like the devil’s own sin.”

“God.” Zavier uttered a fierce groan.

For a long moment Zotorro clamped her nipples between his fingers. He gripped her enormous hard buds without compromise, holding.

“Look,” Zion prompted. “I’ll bet her clit is pulsing for us.”

“Our first look at her. Together,” Zent growled, his tone primitive. “My cock is in hell, until I can get it inside her.”

“Wendy,” Zotorro harshly praised. “God, my rod has never been this heavy, this fucking hard. She’s beautiful.”

With her nipples fierce for more stimulation, Wendra uttered a sharp scream. She tried to buck her hips, the pain of need clawing up her insides. God, she had to have an orgasm. Now.

“Do it,” Zavier desperately rasped.

Zion’s finger slipped over her clit, then lightly fondled the length, easing the wanton frantic ache, yet building a more ruthless need inside her.

“That’s it. Do it to her.” Zent squeezed her breasts a bit more, adding to her rapturous sensations, and to the torrid heat of her flesh.

When she thought she would burst apart at her very seams, the ache climbed higher, then bloomed outward in a tumultuous bliss that soon had her sailing, as if she winged through heaven.

“Stop. Just hold her.” She heard Zavier speak from on high. Everything bloomed inside her, magnificently unfolding, flowing outward as she continued floating. Nearly mindless.

Once she began to fall, and once she became aware, she struggled not to land. Knowing they, all the Dark brothers, waited for her. Her loins still hungered for the thrusting of their cocks, yet she wasn’t prepared for this. She really wasn’t.

Q: How anatomical are you when describing sex organs?

Lol, I guess you can get an idea from the snippet above. God! Goddess! I hate anatomical clinical names and I do my best never to use them, unless it actually works for the story. Why this passionate hate? The sound of the words, themselves. I hate the way the word ‘penis’ sounds, for example. It’s like listening to a type of music you hate, for me, or scraping chalk on a chalkboard. Yet, cock… give it to me, baby.

My question: Why such ugly names for such magnificent parts and bits? I’d really like the answer for that. Come on, how sexy and sensual is the word ‘masturbate’?

Besides, and maybe it’s a generational thing, but I’m not thinking or feeling *take my vagina with your penis*, when in the throes of passion. Or *Yes, yes! Suck my clitoris*. To me, it’s all about the feeling, from physical to spiritual. It’s about the sheer ferocious pleasure. It’s about the powerful emotions involved, whether carnal or sweetest love. It’s not about a clinically observed act.

Q: What are the best reviews you’ve received so far?

Oh, that’s an interesting question. For one thing my books haven’t been reviewed that much to date. So take that for whatever it’s worth. However, ALL SHADES OF BLUE PARADISE received a 5 star review from Debra of ReviewYourBook. And, RED LIONESS TAMED, received 5 flowers from Book Cravers Reviews. What was truly pleasing about those two reviews was that the reviewer truly ‘got’ the story. As an author I am eternally grateful for that.

My fave reviews, though, have been from other romance authors, unsolicited and a fantastic wonderful surprise, in all three cases. Lindsay Townsend, an author with BookStrand and Kensington, reviewed WHEN A GOOD ANGEL FALLS and ALL SHADES OF BLUE PARADISE. And Bekki Lynn, author with Siren-BookStrand, reviewed BLACK CAT BEAUTY, which is now on her keeper shelf.

Oh, and as a spoof and because of my contrary nature, I wrote up a fun, tongue-in-equine-cheek review for my stallion shifter sci fi story, TANGERINE CARNAL DREAMS. The son of Pokey, of Pokey and Gumby Claymation cartoon fame, wrote up his five whinny review.

Q: Have you ever encountered “negative” feed back on your work?

Yep, that’s a definite ‘yes’. I write on the edge of experimental, often, and take chances with my writing style, which is not appreciated by some. Understandably. Let’s see, the comments that niggle the most have come from reviewers. Hmmm… Lady Sheridan would have told Baron Zaggry straight out, he raped her, contrary to one reviewer’s opinion that the sex scenes were close to rape, in All Shades of Blue Paradise. And gee, I think Sun Rocket, my lioness woman in Red Lioness Tamed, would have had a few clawing grrr’s of disagreement over her cover art being pitiful and thus deserving of a pitiful review. Also, after a dismissive shrug and maybe for feline grins, Sable Kiki, my heroine in Black Cat Beauty, might just visit Mrs. Giggles next Halloween and really make her laugh out loud, or run shrieking into the spooky night, right into the arms of Dracula. Oh, and Sedona, my heroine in When a Good Angel Falls, definitely appreciates the seductive talents of her Carnal Cherub, and doesn’t experience one moment of ‘ick’.

Q:  What makes a book a page turner?

Good question, of course. I write what are page turners for me, which often happens when I’m revising or in edits. I’ll get happily lost in my own story. However, that doesn’t mean that would be true for another reader. You always hear this hype about a book being a ‘page turner’. Well, there might be a few out there that are page turners for all of us. I haven’t experienced what are often labeled *page turners* to actually be real page turners. Not for me. I think it’s individual and personal.

What makes a page turner for me? Romance and true love, adventure, passion, creative and intense eroticism…an artfully powerfully told story which lets the imagination live. In movie form that would be GONE WITH THE WIND, STAR WARS, ROMEO AND JULIET, THE PRINCESS BRIDE, THE BIG EASY, all the INDIANA JONES movies, as examples. I know I’m leaving out some. TV form? I can’t resist THE HIGHLANDER series with Adrian Paul. Or XENA, WARRIOR PRINCESS and THE RELIC HUNTER. If I go on, the list would be too overwhelming.

Q:  Does a hero always have to be good looking and why or why not?

No, not always. I do create good looking heroes, so far, just because… hey, I’m writing the fantasy and I’m writing what appeals to my heroine. However, I recall reading some of Diana Palmer’s romance novels, where the hero is more powerful and rugged in nature than good-looking. Works for me! To be honest, if the quality and substance of the man doesn’t match his good looks, hey, I’m not interested and neither are my heroines. Certainly, not in terms, of having a real relationship or falling in love. Yeah, maybe, falling in lust, for a fling… but never for a lifetime.

Thanks for joining us Savanna!    Next week Shara Lanel will join us!  Yay! 

See you then,

Tina

2 comments on “AuThursday – Savanna Kougar

  1. Gem Sivad says:

    Great interview.

    Like

  2. Gem, thank you!

    Tina, thanks so much for having me. The interview looks great.

    Like

Comments are closed.