AuThursday – Minette Meador

Q: What got you interested/started in writing?

To be honest, Star Trek. I was a budding hopeful in 1966, a 10 year old with dreams of grandeur. I was not only going to write for the series, I was going to star in it, and marry James T. Kirk. ~LOL~ Things have sure changed!

 

 Q: What, in your opinion, are the most important elements of good writing?

Characterization, plot, and humor. A good writer keeps a reader turning the pages, reading well into the dead of night. She makes them not only love the characters but want to be them (or with them, if you know what I mean ~wink, wink, nudge, nudge~). And, if she’s really good, the reader will become so enmeshed in the story that they never want it to end. All, of course, with great humor and humility.

Q: What were your feelings when your first novel was accepted/when you first saw the cover of the finished product?

Let’s see… my heart exploded and my husband had to scrap me off the wall, metaphorically speaking, of course. There is no finer feeling of accomplishment… well, except giving birth, maybe.

Q: What do you do to unwind and relax?

I LOVE movies, so that’s what I do to unwind. I also meditate, but I’d rather watch a good movie.

Q: If you could leave your readers with one legacy, what would you want it to be?

  That my stories will entertain their children and their children’s children. That my characters, whom I love so dearly, will enrich every life they touch.

Q: Who are some of your favorite authors?

Heinlein, Spider Robinson, Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Rex Stout, Mary Stewart, Ann McCaffrey, Piers Anthony, just to name a few…

Q: What is coming up on your schedule, book-wise, in the next year?

My next book is a children’s book called A BOY & HIS WIZARD, a read aloud book about choices. It will hit the stands mid-November. Then I have two more Starsight books coming out March and November of next year, another children’s book (A BOY & HIS LIZARD), and hopefully THE GLADIATOR PRINCE (sequel in the Centurion series), KEENAN’S DILEMMA (paranormal romantic comedy), and THE BELL STALKER (being written live at http://www.textnovel.com). Also, I have a contribution in A CUP OF COMFORT FOR FATHERS coming out in April. If I have time, I also have a new YA sci-fi I’ve outlined called ARPEGGIOS IN THE DARK about the first half alien/half human hybrid teenager. This list may expand if I get cracking on everything else.

Q: What is your favorite quote and why?

The way out is the way through. It exemplifies my life.

Q: Have you ever encountered “negative” feedback on your work so far?

Fortunately, I’ve only received one bad review, but I learned a lot from it. The rest have been stellar. Even with the most negative feedback, there is always something to take away.

Q: To date which of your books was the hardest to write and why?

 THE EDGE OF HONOR was very difficult to write because it was my first sequel and is a very complex story. I had to do extensive research on a time that had very little written about it. The end result was very satisfying, however, and I learned a lot. It’s one of my favorites now.

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

Actually, since I live there it’s very easy to find me ~LOL~ Here are some links, to name a few… oh, and I’m addicted to email, so feel free to drop me a line sometime:

mmeador@minnettemeador.com

Webpage

Thanks Minette!  Join me on Saturday when we read a sexy excerpt from Minette.

Until then be naughty!

Tina

