AuThursday – Maddie James

TheCurseWQuoteToday Maddie James joins us as we rack her brain about her author experiences.  Let’s get to it shall we?

Q: Do you have a favorite hero in all your books? For any particular reason?

I have to say that Jack Porter, from The Curse, the first book in my Legend of Blackbeard’s Chalice time travel series, is my most favorite hero. Jack came to me while on vacation in the Outer Banks many, many years ago and I soon became obsessed with him. He’s an arrogant, Alpha, oh-so dark and handsome, and rugged 18th century male. He was as much as fascination for me, as for the heroine, Claire—a 21st century female—in the story. Claire and Jack both continue to live in my head and in book five of the series, I will return to them. But how? That’s a secret. <G>

Q: How “Hot” do you like to make your sex/love scenes and why?

I have two pen names, so I write a different level of heat for each. Maddie loves to make her love scenes hot and spicy and sometimes pushes the envelope a little into more graphic, erotic scenes. I also write as Mia Jae, and her love scenes are usually pretty scorching. As to why, it usually depends on the story and the characters. I let them lead the way.

Q: What are some of the best reviews to date so far on your books?

I am particularly proud of a reviewer top pick from Night Owl Romance for my romantic suspense novel Murder on the Mountain. (http://www.nightowlromance.com/nightowlromance/reviews/Review.aspx?daoid=2867 )

I also love that another romantic suspense, A Perfect Escape, received 5 angels from Fallen Angel Reviews. http://www.fallenangelreviews.com/2008/August/LindaL-APerfectEscape.htm

Q:  Which country would you most like to visit and why?

 

A friend of mine just left Scotland and I’ve been following him on Facebook, which only renewed my lust for wanting to visit that country. I don’t know why, something about moors and weeping fog and fields of heather and big slabs of stone and yes, kilts, call to me. Hm, maybe I need to write another time travel series…

Q:  On average how long does it take you to write a book?

It depends. I have a full time day job so there are many factors that influence how fast I can write.  Deadlines motivate me tremendously. I can write a novella in a month or so and a full length novel in 3 or 4 if pushed by deadline. I’d rather give it a lot more time than that, though. I’ve contracted for a couple of novel length works in 2010 and 2011 and have tried to give myself at least 6 months in the schedule to do those; however, that doesn’t always work out.
Q:  When a new book comes out, have you ever been nervous over readers’ reaction to it? How much does reader reaction mean to you as an author?

 Reader reaction, of course, is always important. I don’t stress about it though. I know that readers have preferences and sometimes that preference may not be the kind of book I write. That’s okay with me.

Q:  What do you feel is the most important aspect for all new authors to remember when writing or creating their own stories? Any advice for aspiring authors?

Be true to yourself, to the story, and to the characters. Get to know your characters very, very well. Sometimes I think I should spend more time with mine than I do. And of course, write and keep writing until the story is finished and polished to within an inch of its life.

Q:  The editing process is an important aspect of an authors’ life. How do you define the editing process for any of your books? Do you have a routine you follow when in editing mode?

 I do have a routine and most of the time I follow it. Sometimes not. First and foremost, I do something that a lot of people say not to do, and that is edit as I go. I cannot, NOT, edit as I write. I polish and layer as I go, so by the time I get to the end, I feel fairly confident about what’s come before. It’s a two pages forward; three pages back kind of thing for me. But the key is that I continually move forward. The story is still in my head. It won’t go away. It just takes me a little longer to get all of it down on paper the first time.

In a perfect world, I do have a final self-editing process I follow, which involves letting it sit for a few days once finished, reading it through on the computer again, doing searches for pesky words, word endings, and phrases I often misuse or repeat, and reading it out loud. It’s surprising how many little quirks you can catch when you read the story out loud. Once I’m confident it works, it goes off to my editor, and then the next process begins.

 

Q:  What is on tap for the rest of 2009? Do you have other WIP’s you want to get published?

 Maddie has one release left for 2009. Mate to Order is the last novella in my Matchmaking Chef series. http://www.legendtennessee.com/2009/02/matchmaking-chef-series.html  Mia Jae, my erotic other self, has a novella coming out in September titled Lust, Lies and Tinsel Ties. It is part of a Christmas anthology with Catrina Calloway, Demi Alex and Melinda Barron.

 Q: Who has had the most influence on your writing?

 My long-time friends, critique and writing partners, authors Janet Eaves, Jan Scarbrough and Magdalena Scott. I don’t know what I’d do without them.

 Q:  Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

Web.  www.maddiejames.com

Blog. www.maddiejameslifeunedited.com

 Thank you so much, Tina! It’s been a pleasure spending time with you.

Thanks Maddie for stopping by.  Join me on Saturday when we read and excerpt from Maddie’s Hot Crossed Buns part of the Matchmaking Chef Series.

Until then…Be Naughty,

Tina

2 comments on “AuThursday – Maddie James

  1. maddie says:

    Again, thanks, Tina for hosting my interview on your blog today!

    I wanted to share that I’m getting ready to launch and contest on several of my sites, so I’ll announce it here first! I have two signed print copies of my books to give away to readers who are new to my newsletter. To signup for my newsletter, you can go to my blog (listed above) or my facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/maddiejames1 and enter your info in the signup box. That’s all you have to do. Anyone who signs up starting now and within the next seven days gets their hat tossed in the ring to win either A Perfect Escape or Finding Home. How about that! I’d love for your readers to have a chance to win a book. So, I’m posting here first and then later elsewhere.

    Thanks, Tina!

    Like

Comments are closed.