AuThursday – Jan Scarborough

Q: What got you interested/started in writing?

 My 9th grade English teacher was a great inspiration. It was in her class that I learned I loved to write and I was good at it. It wasn’t until after a life-threatening illness in 1988 that I decided to follow my heart and write a book.

Q: Have you ever encountered “negative” feed back on your work so far?

Oh, sure! I’ve collected tons of rejection letters over the years. Although the form letter ones are bad, the “good” ones that say “I didn’t love it as much as I thought I would” hurt even more.

Q: How hard is it to keep love scenes fresh and interesting?

I struggle with that. In fact, I was mentioning my problem to my writing buddies just last night. I think the key is keeping the love scene in the point of view of the character with the most to lose and stressing the emotion of the moment.

Q: To date which of your books was the hardest to write and why?

My Lord Raven, my medieval set in 1283, was the hardest because of the research. I put it aside for years before I finally finished it. I wanted it to be accurate so I was very careful about creating the time period to the best of my understanding.

Q:  Which country would you most like to visit and why?  Or if you have visited that county what surprised you?

I’d like to go to Wales and Shropshire in England because of my research for My Lord Raven. I’ve been to England twice. What surprised me was that it wasn’t very big. We drove from Tintagel in Cornwall to Scarborough in York in about eight hours, if I remember right. That was considered a long trip by the British, but nothing for us Yanks. J

Q:  Which hero is your favorite and why?

I like Jack in Kentucky Woman. He is family oriented and proud. He tried to do the right thing.

Q:  As above but the heroine?

 Alex, the heroine of Kentucky Woman, takes her responsibility of single mother seriously, yet she doesn’t give up on her dream of riding. I like to think she’s the kind of mother I was when I was a single parent.

 Q: How do you make time to write?

 It’s hard with a full time job. You have to put butt in chair and make yourself do it.

 Q:  Can we get an idea of what you’ve got coming up for readers?

A Groovy Christmas, novella

Release from Resplendence Publishing — September 2009

Part of the Three Decades of Love: A Ladies of Legend Christmas Anthology

In the spring Kathleen Fields will graduate from college. By New Year’s Eve, she expects a proposal from her longtime beau. It’s 1968 and women are burning bras and freely making love. Before settling down to a boring life in boring Legend, Tennessee, Kathleen wants to experience a little of the excitement of her peers. And more than anything, she wants to do something about being a virgin.

Hippie and political activist Grant Winchester has received his draft notice. Uncertain about dodging the draft, he stops in Legend to visit his aunt before the holidays. Not finding her at home, Grant rediscovers his high school sweetheart and his plans take an unexpected turn.

Like the Hatfield’s and the McCoy’s, Kathleen and Grant’s families have been feuding for decades. Plus Kathleen is not so sure she approves of his decision to go to Canada. Yet Grant is a likely candidate to help her solve her problem. Kathleen risks her future only to discover that free sex is not so free, and sometimes the man of your dreams comes into your life when you least expect it.

Other novellas in the anthology:

The Christmas Heart (set in 1944) by Janet Eaves

Under the Mistletoe (set in 1975) by Magdalena Scott

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

www.janscarbrough.com

Join me on Saturday when we read an excerpt from Jan’s story, My Lord Raven. 

Until then Be Naughty,

Tina

One comment on “AuThursday – Jan Scarborough

  1. Fran Lee says:

    Great interview! Well done!

    Like

Comments are closed.