AuThursday – Anny Cook

Please welcome fellow Resplendence Author Anny Cook.  So Anny, How long have you been writing?

I’ve written for many years. However, it wasn’t until three years ago that I first submitted a story to a publisher. That was Dancer’s Delight which I submitted to Ellora’s Cave. Imagine my shock—and delight—when they offered me a contract. Since then, I’ve had thirteen books released.

Q: To date which of your books was the hardest to write and why?

I think it was probably Love Never-Ending. That was my longest book at 70K+. Since it was the fifth book in the Mystic Valley series, there were a million details to check, double check and match with the other books.

Q:  Which country would you most like to visit and why?

Peru. I would love to visit Machu Picchu. Although in reality, I would probably need an oxygen mask because of my asthma.

Q:  Which author would you most like to meet and why?

Shall I confess? I’m a total fan girl of Jayne Ann Krentz. I would love to have time to sit down with her and discuss writing. She has a fascinating mind.

Q:  What is your writing process? Do you outline, fly by the seat of your pants or a combination of both? Do you use mood music, candles, no noise, when you write?

Ohhhh. First I put on my sexy lingerie and my pink heels. Then I wrap my favorite feather boa around my neck… NO? Actually, I sit in front of my computer with the minimum noise I can manage (this is after all real life!) and I write. I don’t outline though I have a general idea of where the story is going to go. After that, I just write with a counter running in the back of my head…every 3500 words is a chapter.

Q:  What do you feel is the most important aspect for all new authors to remember when writing or creating their own stories?

Write every day unless you are so sick you have to stay in bed. Write a grocery list. Write a blog. Write a letter to you mother. Write SOMETHING. It’s very important to develop and maintain the habit of writing. And once you develop that habit, understand that anything written can be revised and changed. But a blank page is impossible to revise or change.

 Q:  What do you think is the biggest misconception in erotic romance fiction?

A) that we as authors have done everything we’ve written about. B) that we as authors WANT to do everything we write about. C) that we’re all just looking for a few GOOD men… NOT.

 Q: We all know “SEX” sells, have you ever been asked to “sex-up-your books”?

Yes, I have. Sometimes I’ve complied if it seemed the story called for it. Sometimes I’ve declined. Clearly, if we’re writing erotica we already know the expectation the publisher has. Mostly, I believe if you don’t want to add sex, then don’t submit to that genre.

Q:  What is on tap for the rest of 2009?

Wow. Well on November 10, my newest story, Prisoner of the Heart will be released from Resplendence Publishing. It is part of an anthology, Carnal Reunions. There are seven stories in all—about seven young women who return to their college for their tenth reunion. While there, each of them reconnects with the fellow who got away.

 Aside from that, I have several works in progress that I hope to finish before the end of the year—a vampire story, a fantasy, a futuristic/apocalyptic, a Mystic Valley story, and a contemporary older woman/younger man.

Q:  When a new book comes out, have you ever been nervous over readers’ reaction to it?

Oh, yeah. I’m always nervous. It’s impossible to please everyone, but even knowing that, it still stings if someone doesn’t like the book. Every time. You never get past that.

Q:  Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web? www.annycook.com and www.annycook.blogspot.com 

I also have MySpace and Facebook pages.

Thanks for a wonderful interview Anny!  Join me on Saturday when Anny shares a steamy excerpt.

See you then,

Tina

11 comments on “AuThursday – Anny Cook

  1. anny cook says:

    Tina! Thank you so much for asking me to interview with you. It was great!

    Like

  2. Great interview, ladies! Anny, I’m looking forward to the new ones. Get ’em finished!

    Like

  3. First off, congrats on your release this week! Yay!! Secondly, great interview, ladies!! I’m soooooo looking forward to your vampire story!! 😀

    Like

  4. Very nice interview, Anny. I think all of us are a little nervous when a new book releases. We just so much want readers to like what we’ve done.

    Like

  5. Fran Lee says:

    Yes, and her 11/10/09 book is hot hot hot! Already read it! YAY, Anny!

    Like

  6. Lindsey Ekland says:

    Always enjoy reading the blog psts with the topical LOL Cats. Need to go find your backlist after I visit Resplendence. Look forward to the Vampires.

    Like

  7. Prisoner of the Heart is fantastic and I can’t wait for your next book, and the next, and the next…!

    Like

  8. Very much liked the interview, girls – intriguing questions followed by heartfelt answers.
    🙂
    G.

    Like

  9. anny cook says:

    Congratulations to genella degrey! You won your choice of my current e-books. Please e-mail me at annycook67@yahoo.com to let me know what title you want and what format!

    Like

  10. Cool! Thanks so much!
    Emailing you right now, Anny!
    🙂
    G.

    Like

Comments are closed.