AuThursday – Jannifer Hoffman

Please Welcome fellow Resplendence Author Jannifer Hoffman.  Let’s get to it shall we?

Q:  So Jannifer, where are you from?

Born and raised in North Dakota.  I moved to Minnesota in 1969.

Q:  Wow!  I live in North Dakota  now.  My family has a cabin in Minnesota, beautiful lakes country out there.  Oh yeah we were doing an interview. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I started my first novel Ceremony of Deception in 1974 after reading the Flame and the Flower and Sweet Savage Love. I considered myself a writer when I finished my first pathetic draft.  How naive I was!  After a number of rejections I started taking writing classes and joining writers groups.. I took every class the UofM had including script writing.  I did so well in them I thought “Hey, I must be a writer now.” LOL.  After no less than 30 rewrites I did publish  that book in 2008.

Q:  Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to write fast paced, no dull moments. My contemporary writing heroine (author) was Elizabeth Lowell starting with Amber Beach. If I emulated anyone it was her.

Q:  Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Not necessarily, except of course they always have happy endings.  That’s why they’re called fiction. Life is rarely like that.

Q:  How much of your books are realistic?

Most of the locations and terrains are real. Sometimes I change the names of towns, lakes, etc.

Q:  What are your current projects?

I’m working on a new book (On the Run). I have an ex-con, and a woman running from unsavory in-laws. She’s running away from her life, he’s running toward his past, intent on proving his innocence. They wind up running together. 

Q:  Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The research. I do have a massive network of “assistants” though. Oh, and edits, they’re a major pain.

Random FireQ:  Who designed your book covers?

The publisher.  They usually ask me what I’d like then ask me to approve it.  So far they’ve done a fantastic. On the one being released June 1st (Random Fire) they actually used a photo I took. It’s a covered bridge. I can see it from where I live and that’s where this particular story takes place.

Q:  Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

www.JanniferHoffman.com

Join me on Saturday when we read an excerpt from Jannifer’s novel Rough Edges.

See you then,

Tina

www.tinaholland.com

Have you been naughty?

2 comments on “AuThursday – Jannifer Hoffman

  1. Thank you so much for asking me to do this onterview. I enjoy communicating a part of myself to my fans.

    Like

  2. Mia Watts says:

    Hi Jannifer! Great interview and as one from Minnesota, and one who’s seen where you live, I gotta say you represent well. 🙂

    Congratulations on your release and good luck with your WIP.

    Mia

    Like

Comments are closed.