AuThursday – Julia Barrett

Please welcome fellow Resplendence Author Julia Barrett.

Hi Tina, thanks for having me.

Q:  So Julia, when and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing stories and poems since I was a kid.  I actually began as a poet, but took a practical break – to make money and help support my family, I’m a registered nurse – I began writing again fulltime in 2007.

Q:  Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

My biggest challenge is the need for down time after I finish a work.  If the story and the edits are intense, sometimes I need a month or two before I can really concentrate on my next project.

Q:  What inspired you to write latest book?

My most recent published work is a ménage and I wrote it after a great deal of encouragement by my friends and my publisher. 

My newest submission is a contemporary romantic comedy that was inspired by my real life canoe trip from hell in the Boundary Waters of Northern Minnesota!  We got lost – no food for over 48 hours, crazy guide.  Yup…a nightmare.  I’m waiting to hear.

Q:  How did you come up with the title?

The ménage was easy, it’s a play on words.  Since it involves one woman and three men, I titled it One Four All. 

If my contemporary is published, the title will be – Pushing Her Boundaries.

Q:  If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Choosing is very tough.  I love so many writers.  I suppose if I was lucky enough to have a mentor, I’d like it to be Guy Gavriel Kay.  He writes some of the most beautiful prose I’ve ever read.

Q:  Do you have any advice for other writers?

I’m awful about giving advice.  I figure everyone has to find his or her own way.  But I guess the only advice I can offer is this – don’t overuse the adjectives and adverbs and write what you know.  Readers can always tell when you’re faking the emotions.

Q:  Which one of your covers is your favorite and why?

Anytime Darlin'I think the cover for Anytime Darlin’ is my favorite and that may be because it’s the first romance I wrote – but the cover is just so dang sexy and it captures the characters perfectly.

Q:  Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

 My website is:  http://juliarachelbarrett.net or readers can email me at Julia@JuliaRachelBarrett.net

Join me on Saturday when we read an excerpt from Julia’s story “Pushing her Boundaries”

2 comments on “AuThursday – Julia Barrett

  1. Tina, thanks for posting this interview – just found it. I’ll send some folks your way!

    Like

  2. Looking forward to Pushing Her Boundaries. Good luck with the submission process!

    Like

Comments are closed.