AuThursday – Rex Evans Wood

Please join me in welcoming local Fargo-Moorhead author Rex Evans Wood. Let’s get down to it shall we?

So Rex, where are you from?
Minnesota, but I was born in Bethesda, Maryland. I grew up in a Minneapolis suburb, then moved to Moorhead, MN after college. I worked in the Fargo, ND TV market for many years as a producer, and now work in radio at an NPR affiliate, Prairie Public Broadcasting.

Q: When and why did you begin writing?
I always liked the idea of writing a novel, having loved books as a child, devouring the Hardy Boys series, for example. I finally began in earnest in 1987, while simultaneously researching the craft.

Q: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
The biggest challenge is making the commitment to writing daily. The second biggest challenge is coming up with a story you care enough about to live on that daily basis.

Q: Do you have any advice for other writers?
Study the craft. Start with Strunk and White’s Elements of Style. If your meaning doesn’t come easily from the page, the story doesn’t matter.

Q: What inspired you to write your book, Truitt’s Fix ?
The inspiration was a course I took in college on the history of the English language. I wanted to explore the idea that language changes over time. In the end, language change is a mostly authenticating detail with some nice plot implications, but the core story operates independently.

Q: How did you come up with the title?
There’s a scene where two of the principle characters reflect on the word “fix” … how the meaning evolved. The multiple meanings of the word were perfect for the title. Not only is our hero “in a fix” … he also comes up with the ultimate fix that addresses the plight he and others face.

Q: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Yes. There’s an underlying theme that the current state of humanity is truly exceptional. In the story, it’s referred to as “The Advance.” I think many people take the current state of the human condition for granted.

Q: I see Truitt’s Fix is self-published, what drew you to self-publishing?
I didn’t find a mainstream publisher for a two classic reasons. One, it was too long for a first-timer. Two, it’s a genre tweener. It’s not heavy-handed on the sci-fi, but has too much sci-fi to call it anything else. That makes it tough to market. I really had no interest in self-publishing, so it lived on the shelf for many years, but when I learned I could publish an e-book for free (Smashwords), I gave that a shot. The 5 star reviews prompted me to bring it out on paper, via Createspace, which also had no up-front cost.

Q: What are your current and/or upcoming projects?
I’ve been urged by many readers to write a sequel, and I have one blocked out, but without a publisher for the first book, that strikes me as foolish. Consequently, I’m focusing on a story that has more of a mainstream chance. So, now I’m facing that familiar writer’s challenge – finding time for daily writing. While writing Truitt’s Fix, I had my mornings free. That’s no longer the case, but the writing bug is still with me, so I’m hoping to begin writing this new story soon. It’s a thriller with a medical context.

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

bit.ly/rexwood

