Annie Seaton’s Italian Affair Blog Tour

Italian Affair Blog TourPlease welcome Entangled Author, Annie Seaton on her Italian Affair Blog Tour!
Annie_SeatonSo tell us Annie, where are you from?
I was born in Queensland, the sunniest state in Australia and am currently visiting it on a lovely long winter vacation, however we make our home on the mid north coast of New South Wales. I live with my husband, and ‘Bob’ the dog and two white cats in a house next to the beach on the east coast of Australia. I love to sit in my writing chair, gaze at the ocean and write stories.

Q: How long have you been writing?
I have wanted to write all my life but marriage, family and career took priority. I retired young and decided to fulfill my dream only two years ago and I have written ten books in that time and have another three contracted. My debut full length novel, Holiday Affair, a contemporary romance set in the South Pacific was released as part of Entangled Publishing’s Indulgence line in March 2012 and has been a best seller on both Amazon and Barnes and Noble. The sequel Italian Affair was released in June 2013, and will be followed shortly after by Outback Affair. I have more books being released in 2013 with Entangled Publishing in the Bliss, Ignite and Covet imprints. I have also ventured into independent publishing with my de Vargas family steampunk series: Winter of the Passion Flower and Summer of the Moon Flower. Blind Lust (Musa Publishing) a paranormal novella is a sweet romance and one of my favorites. In appreciation of the supportive author community, I wrote a book on promotion to share the secrets of my success: Promotional Tips and Tricks for Aspiring Authors in the Digital Landscape.

Q: How do you make time to write?
I am in the enviable position of being a full time writer and I treat my writing as a full time occupation. It is very easy after many years of being in the work force.

Q: What is your writing process? Do you outline, fly by the seat of your pants or a combination of both? Do you use mood music, candles, no noise, when you write?
I am an absolute panster and I need a totally silent environment. I have recently finished writing a book, and doing the first edits of another book in the car as we travelled through the Australian outback. I learned to put up with the noise of the tires on the road!

Q: What do you feel is the most important aspect for all new authors to remember when writing or creating their own stories?
The most important aspect of writing contemporary romance is to make the reader feel the emotion. Unless you invoke the happiness, sadness, angst, need and want, and make the reader feel a part of the story, you will not engage them. The best review you can get is that the reader did not want to leave the characters.

Q: What was it about your recent book, The Italian Affair, that made your editor want to buy it?
I believe the characters in Italian Affair sold the book for me. I loved creating them and fell in love with both of their characters. This has been endorsed for me by the fabulous reviews the book has had and most of them mention the characters and how they enjoyed their growth.

Q: What was the most difficult aspect of writing The Italian Affair?
It was hard trying to keep Tomas an alpha male, and appealing, with his stuffy and strict personality. In the end, his growth into a relaxed and carefree man made him all the more loveable. It was a tough process and took some tricky rewrites!

Q: How much research did you conduct for The Italian Affair, and what was the most interesting thing you did while conducting your research?
As I had never been to Naples where Tom and Brianna caught the ferry, and Tom did some exploring, I had to do some accurate research into the city. The most interesting aspect was discussing it with a friend and she told me of the smells of garlic and fish which Tom then experienced… He’d even become accustomed to the aroma of fish and garlic that pervaded every street. It was less than a week since he’d left his office and already it felt like a different life. He’d not planned his day and had wandered around Naples as the mood had caught him and experienced the colors, flavors, and delights of this amazing city, visiting the Norman Castle, Nuovo and the Castello del l’Ovo. He’d taken the whole afternoon to spend time in the famous Duomo and the Gesu Nuovo Church. Even if he’d had to turn around and go home today, the richness of his experience in Naples had satisfied him already and he was looking forward to getting to Lipari Island.

Q: Who has had the most influence on your writing?
That is a hard question to answer as I read so widely and across so many genres. Nora Roberts is a favorite, as well as Peter Robinson, Katherine George, Ian Rankin, and too many contemporary romance authors to mention. If I was to mention one, it would be the romance writer from many years ago who introduced me to my first romances. A New Zealand author… Essie Summers. She is still worth reading, forty years after her books were published as her structure and technique is wonderful.

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?
Annie loves to hear from readers at: annieseaton26@gmail.com
My website is http://www.annieseatonromance.com/ and my blog is at http://annieseaton.blogspot.com.au/
You can findme on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AnnieSeatonAuthor and https://www.facebook.com/annieseaton26
and Twitter https://twitter.com/annieseaton26

Join me Saturday August 10th, when we read an excerpt from the Italian Affair! ~Tina

