AuThursday – Jennifer Garcia

Authorpic_zps31ad6ac1Please welcome Jennifer Garcia to the Clog Blog! So Jennifer, where are you from?
I was born and raised in Boston, Massachusetts until I was sixteen.

Q: What is your writing process? Do you outline, fly by the seat of your pants or a combination of both? Do you use mood music, candles, no noise, when you write?
I supposed I’m a “fly by the seat of my pants” type of writer. Once I have a basic idea for a story, I work it over in my mind until I have it clear enough to put on paper. I need silence with no interruptions to write so I can think. Sometimes, I can turn on the TV and listen to shows I’ve already seen. It serves as background noise but is not distracting.
Q: What inspired you to write your first book?
This is actually the first book I wrote even though it is releasing after a novella I wrote. This book was inspired by a writing prompt that had a male-nanny, a manny.

Q: Would you tell us your story of getting “the call?”
The publishing call? I submitted My Mr. Manny for an Open Call at a publishing company I admire. When my call came in after the submission, I was initially told they did not want the story for their Open Call. However, even better news followed when they said they wanted me to expand it even more into a novel.

Q: What was the most exciting thing that happened to you after you signed your contract – besides receiving your first check as a published author?
The release of my first novella so far has been the most exciting thing. The novella released in July and this novel released August 27th, so I haven’t received my first check yet. But I’m sure that will trump it all. The process from beginning to end is very exciting.
Q: Do you have any advice for other writers?
To believe in yourself and try. You’ll never know what your talent is unless you put yourself out there. Don’t give up and keep on moving forward with your dream. People do not have the same taste in things, so not everyone will appreciate what you have to offer. Just don’t let that discourage you. Focus on those that enjoy your work.
Q: Tell us your latest news?
Well, my most current news is the release of my novel and being swept up in the waves of that process. I’ll be selling and signing my books at a local Olive Festival. That’s an exciting part of the process I enjoy.
Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?
My blog is http://jenniferfgarcia.com and it lists all of my social media links.

Join me on Saturday when we read an excerpt from Jennifer’s book, My Mr. Manny
~Tina

One comment on “AuThursday – Jennifer Garcia

  1. Thank you so much for hosting me and for this great interview. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.