AuThursday – Kathryn Bain

This is an unusual departure from the erotic romance authors you find on here, but I love to learn about all things romance. So, please join me in welcoming Inspirational Romance Author, Kathryn Bain to the The Clog Blog!

Kathryn BainQ: What inspired you to write your first book?
Actually, I started writing screenplays for TV because I’d complain and say “They should have done this” or “They should have done that”. My daughters told me I should write for a show. After some research, I discovered you really needed to live in the city where they filmed the show so you could make immediate changes.
I wasn’t about to move, so I then decided on children’s books. After all, 30 pages, one paragraph each. How hard can that be? Was I crazy or what? Try fitting a plot, characterization, and setting into a 30 page book. Not easy.
That’s when I started to learn about writing novels.

Q: Do you have a specific writing process?

I write every morning between 6:30 and 7:15. If I’m on a roll, I can do anywhere from 85-100 wpm. Then once I get home from work (I’m also a paralegal), I do revisions and marketing.

Q: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
I’m grammatically challenged so figuring out where commas go drives me nuts.

Q: What drew you to the genre of Inspirational Romance? Being a Christian, it was just a natural fit. It was the murder part that was hard. After all, I don’t go around shooting someone every day. I love to read suspense and mysteries, so it came pretty easy to choose inspirational suspense.

Q: How did you deal with rejection letters, if you received any?
If I got any – hahahaha. I could paper my walls. I find the best way to deal with them is to toss them. Every time I received one, I’d just send out another query. I tried to make sure I had 5 queries out at a time.

Q: Is there a message in your novels that you want readers to grasp?
In Christian fiction, you need to have some sort of message. Most of mine are about forgiveness and knowing that God loves us no matter what we’ve done in the past.

Q: What books/authors are you reading now?
I just finished reading a non-fiction by Brené Brown titled “Dare Greatly”. She was one of the speakers at the Leadership Summit I attended at my church. The next book might be Dean Koontz. He’s one of my favorites.

Q: What are your current projects?
I’m editing a suspense manuscript (secular) titled Repent. “We call ourselves dispatchers because executioner is such a cold word.” And I’m writing my third Lincolnville Mystery Series titled One Last Breath. This is another inspirational romantic suspense.

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web? My website: kathrynjbain.com; Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1exEzPu; Amazon: http://amzn.to/17Rvufq; Linkedin: http://linkd.in/15D2Ctv
Join me on Saturday when we read an excerpt from Kathryn’s book, Beautiful Imperfection.
Until then be…nice?
~Tina

2 comments on “AuThursday – Kathryn Bain

  1. selenafulton says:

    This writer will have you heart racing as you turn the pages to find out Who Done It?

    Like

Comments are closed.