AuThursday – K.D. Friedrich

Please Welcome fellow LSB writer K.D. Friedrich to the Clog Blog. We’re so happyyou could join us K.D. Let’s jump right in, shall we?  Can you tell us Where are you from?

It’s great to be here and thanks so much for having me. I’m from Bethpage, NY. It’s a town centering Long Island on the east coast. I’ve lived there my whole life.

Q: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always loved writing. When I was teen, I wrote mainly poetry and songs. I kept a journal as well. I found writing helped me get through some of the tough times growing up. As I got older, I found a love for romance novels. I started to create stories in my head. Characters, situations, and adventures began to come together in my imagination. It got to the point that if I didn’t write the ideas down, I couldn’t sleep. That was when I started writing my first novel.

Q: Do you use any techniques, tools, or aids to help you write?

The first thing I do is write a quick synopsis of my story. This gives me a starting point.  The story may stray from the original outline, but that’s okay. A novel doesn’t have to turn out like you’ve planned. Characters may not act the way you want them to and might steer you down a completely different road, but whatever path they take you, in the end, it’s usually the right direction.  My only two aids I can think of are a hot cup of coffee and a quiet room.

Q: How do you make time to write?

Working a day job makes finding time to write a challenge. Especially, since I’m a day writer. My mind works better in the morning and afternoon. So, I write every day during my lunch hour, on the weekends, and any other free time that happens to present itself. I leave my research, marketing, and all the other fun aspects that come with being a writer, to the evening hours.

Q: How did you deal with rejection letters, if you received any?

It wasn’t easy having someone reject my work, but it comes with the territory. Yeah, it hurts. I cried the first time I got a rejection letter for my novel Cross My Heart. What did I do…I started writing book two in the series. You have to develop a thick skin. Not everyone is going to like your book. No matter what, you have to keep writing.

Q: Would you tell us your story of getting “the call?”

I was working at my day job, sitting at my desk, feeling glum. My cell phone beeped signaling an incoming email. I opened the email from Liquid Silver Books, expecting another, “The book is nice, but not for us.” Instead, the email read, “We would love to publish you novel.” I would have screamed had I not been sitting in the middle of my office, surrounded by students and coworkers. I’ll never forget that moment for the rest of my life.

Q: How did you come up with the idea for both your series, The Heart Falls Heroes and The Jettison Brotherhood?

10362369_360734284114314_4606509467949226255_nCross My Heart, book one of The Heart Falls Heroes was originally going to be a stand-alone novel. As the other characters developed, I fell in love with them. I felt they deserved stories as well. Therefore, I started planning a series. What started as one book quickly became three. Now, as I write book three, some new characters are being introduced. If all goes as planned, the series could produce five books total. I even have an idea for a spin off series, but that’s just a thought right now.

soul tie seduction ad 1The Jettison Brotherhood comes from my love of paranormal romance. I didn’t want to write the typical vampire persona, but I wanted some of the same elements of the legend.  Demon’s seemed to fit into the cast I wanted to fill. I wondered. What would be the worst thing to happen to a creature bred in hell? Since demons were soulless, I figured the worst way to torture one would be to shove part of human soul into them. I wanted to add variety, so each member of the Jettison Brotherhood is a different type of demon, some more powerful than others. The demon in Soul Tie Seduction, the first book in the series, is an Incubus or sex demon. All of them are alpha type heroes, some darker than their brothers. Their salvation is the one woman who holds the other half of their soul, their Soul Tie. She completes them and in doing so, tames the demonic side of them. Without her, they could succumb to the evil within.

Q: Tell us your latest news?

HRcrossmyheartMy debut novel, Cross My Heart was released this past January. My next novel, Soul Tie Seduction is due to release on July 7, 2015 and is now available for pre-order at:

http://www.lsbooks.com/pre-order-coming-soon-romance-books-c322.php .

I have also completed the second novel of the Heart Falls Heroes and I’m hoping to have it out soon.  Right now, I’m actively working on both series.

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

My website is www.kdfriedrich.com.

LSBooks: http://www.lsbooks.com/kd-friedrich-c489.php

Goodreads link is: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/11364747.K_D_Friedrich

Twitter: kdfriedrich_

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorKDFriedrich

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/kdfriedrich_/

