AuThursday – Glenn Maynard

Author PhotoPlease welcome Glenn Maynard to the Clog Blog.  Glenn, I have to ask, what was the most difficult aspect of writing Wayward Soul?

This story is a sequel to my paranormal romance book, Desert Son. The most difficult part of Wayward Soul was figuring out where to begin and finding paranormal elements that would WOW the readers like in Desert Son. Then I had to upgrade the side shows that occur between scenes in order to keep the reader hooked. When I was able to create that WOW moment, I knew that I had created something special that would rival Desert Son.

Q:  Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Wayward Soul is what one reviewer called a “stand-alone sequel to Desert Son.” You can read the second book and survive because much of the backstory is rehashed during the sequel, but it would do you well to start with Desert Son, and as an incentive, the Desert Son ebook has just been reduced to $2.99 on all online platforms, so now is the time.Desert Son blb cvr

Q:  Do you use any techniques, tools, or aids to help you write?

My writing process has changed with each book. With Desert Son, I wrote every scene on an index card, and then methodically flipped the cards over once I completed the scene. Wayward Soul was more of a loose outline with a list of scenes on a sheet of paper. For the third book of this Desert Son trilogy, in which I just completed the first draft, I started with nothing. I just wrote and let the characters take me wherever they wanted me to go. I was lost the entire time, and ended up writing my biggest novel yet (over 100,000 words).

Q:  How do you make time to write?

I stay up late at night or write whenever I can in order to reach my writing goals. One day this summer I wrote while on the beach. I took notepad and pen with me. It was great for my weekly goal, but terrible for my sun burn quota.

Q:  Who has had the most influence on your writing?

I believe Stephen King has a way of creating total darkness and doing it more effectively than anyone I’ve read. He creates tension, horror, and fear like nobody else, and I marvel at his ability to alter human emotions with his writing. I tend to gravitate towards his books, and I learn from his writing, so I guess I’d have to say that Stephen King has had the most influence on my writing.

Q:  What advice do you have for other writers?

Keep writing books. You will find that your time will be consumed by marketing your books, but you also need to keep writing them. It may seem daunting at first, but you have to budget your time between writing your current book and marketing your published books. If there is any time left, then you can live. How many words are you going to write this week?

Q:  What books can we expect to see in the near future?

I have finished the first draft of my third book of the Desert Son trilogy. Carter and Brenda are just trucking along, but I’ve created a wild finish to my series. I still have a lot to do, but it’s shaping up to be just as intense as the first two books of the series.

Q:  Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

http://www.glennmaynard.weebly.com/

https://www.facebook.com/#!/GlennMaynardFanPage

http://www.amazon.com/Desert-Son-Glenn-Maynard/dp/1612963129

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20505634-desert-son

Join me on Saturday as we read an excerpt from Wayward Soul. 

~Tina

