AuThursday-Susan Behon

Behon_Susan_Author_PicPlease welcome my fellow LSB author Susan Behon.  Susan welcome to the Clog Blog, how long have you been writing?

I started writing bad poetry in high school and moved on to fan fiction when I was in my twenties. It took quite a few years to gather my courage and pursue writing seriously.

Q: How do you develop your plots and characters? Do you use any set formula?

The fact that I write a series has helped with plot and character development. I started out with one couple and the side characters from that story got their own romance. New characters were introduced and the series took on a life of its own from there. As odd as it sounds, characters and plots just come to me. Some characters are based on a mishmash of people I know and some are completely from my imagination.

Q: What were your feelings when your first novel, FALL FOR YOU was accepted and when you first saw the cover of the finished product?

I received the acceptance e-mail at three in the morning. I half-hyperventilated and half-cried out from excitement. My husband was asleep next to me and the walrus-like howl woke him up. Bless, his heart. He hugged me and told me that he knew I would make it. I was overjoyed and stunned to have a contract offer.

When I saw the first cover for FALL FOR YOU I felt like I’d finally made it. It sank in that I actually have a real book on my hands.

Q: How did you come up with the idea for the MADISON FALLS series?

I wrote the first book as a challenge to myself to see if I could actually do it. I thought it would be one and done. The first book opened the flood gates to more ideas and I ran with it. Funny bit of trivia—when I was brainstorming for an idea for the town, I was stuck. I listed name after name and then my daughter, Madison, tripped in front of me. That is how I dubbed my series, “Madison Falls.”

Q: To date which of your books was the hardest to write and why?

I’m presently having the most trouble with the manuscript for book six, ALL FIRED UP. I think it’s due to the fact that I’m thinking about it too hard. Each time I write a book, I want to improve and make it the best book yet. Sometimes, putting that kind of pressure on myself squelches the creative process.

Q:  When you are writing, who is in control? You or your characters?

I would have to say that my characters have the lion’s share of control. I’ll write, intending to go in one direction and they’ll grab the reins and pull me somewhere completely different.

Q:  Do you have any advice for other writers?

Start out by writing what you know. Write what you want to express and not what you think others want to read. You can do it and you are good enough. Writers are world builders. Don’t be afraid to make the world that’s waiting inside of you.

Q:  Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

www.susanbehon.com

Twitter: www.twitter.com/suebeehny

Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1dD86dc

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1GFiuI

Amazon Author: http://amzn.to/1zn8Igz

Link to All Books: http://amzn.to/1JepnEA

 

Join me on Saturday when we read an excerpt from Susan’s latest novel, ALL OR NOTHING.  ~Tina

 

 

