AuThursday- Sean Michael

Please welcome my fellow Resplendence Writer, Sean Micheal to the Clog Blog. Welcome Sean.

Thank you very much for having me, Tina!

Q: You’ve written so many books, how do you make the time to write?

Writing is my job, so I do it every day. I have set times when I sit down and write, but I love it so much that I will often be writing outside of those set times as well.

Q: Where do your ideas come from?

Sometimes they come from the call I’m writing for. Other times I’ll see or hear something that will spark an idea. Or I’ll be in the mood to write something kinky and the guys who need that kind of thing will pop into my head.

Q: Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just see where an idea takes you?

I tend to have a general idea of where the story is going to go, but the characters are in charge and will often go left when I think we’re headed right, so I need to be flexible or it stalls the writing. I did try outlining once because I thought I ought to be more organized and when I had finished the outline, I couldn’t write the book – like my brain said what’s the point of writing it if you’ve already told the story albeit in point form.

Q: What is the hardest thing about writing?

The business of writing is the hardest part of it. Prepping stuff for submission, filling out all the various forms the publishers need, the editing. It’s surprising how much time gets eaten up by things that aren’t actually writing.

Q: Do you ever get writer’s Block?

Sort of. I usually have anywhere from four to six documents open at any one time and I work on each of them every day. I try to give each story the same amount of attention, however sometimes there will be one or two that are ‘hot’ and easy to write, and one or two that are ‘cold’ and the writing just doesn’t come easy. So I’ll write more on the stories that are popping than the ones that are not. But being able to switch keeps a block on one story from becoming a total block.

Q: You’ve written a lot of different series, can you tell us a bit about your favorites, and what

you find appealing about series writing?drawingstraws1

I hate choosing favorites, in part because whatever I’m working on at the time is the current favorite, but when people ask about older books and I think back on it, I always say oh, I loved writing those guys, because truly I did. The Drawing Straws guys for instance were so much fun to write because they were a foursome full of kinky goodness (and then they went and plotted on me!)

The thing I like best about writing series is being able to revisit the characters. And I enjoy both kinds of series – the ones that follow the same characters through all the books and the ones that follow different characters with each book, but that are set I the same world and have appearances by the characters from other books in the series.

Q: What are you working on at the minute?

Let’s see what’s open today. I’m working on a kinky demons story, the second in a series I can’t talk about yet, the next Iron Eagle Gym story, the next Windbrothers book, a ghost hunters book, and a Velvet Glove book.

Q: Which writers inspire you?

I love words and how authors put them together. Off the top of my head I’d have to say Stephen King, Michael Ondaatje, Timothy Findlay, Anthony Burgess… I honestly could go on and on.

Books are wonderful things.

Q: Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

Website: www.seanmichaelwrites.com

Blog: http://seanmichaelwrites.blogspot.ca/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SeanMichaelWrites/

Twitter: twitter.com/seanmichael09

