AuThursday – Olivia Night

Reprinted with Author’s permission from January of 2016.

Please welcome, my fellow LSB author, Olivia Night.   So tell us, Olivia, how long have you been writing?

I have been writing all my life. I started to write full length novels about four years ago.

Q:  Do you have a specific writing style?

I write in third person and I switch perspectives frequently. I like that you can get inside the head of both the male and female leads (and bay guys too!)

Q:  Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I am very much a slave to feeling inspired. I just recently wrote over 60,000 words in just a few weeks. And then the inspiration just fizzled away. And I LOVE the story. But it’s just the way it goes with me. I have to wait for it to resurface. (which hopefully will be soon)

Q:  Your FTI Series takes place in different locales.   Which country would you most like to visit and why?

I have visited Spain (book 2) and will be visiting Scotland (book 3) this summer. And in 2018 (yes I am a big time planner) I will be visiting Africa so that’s all three locations!

Q:  How did you come up with the idea for this series?

Brandt and Aislinn just popped into my head one night when I couldn’t sleep. They were pretty much already fleshed out. I just had to write their story. Mid-way through Patrick came along and I wanted to tell his story. Logan appears in both of the first two books and his story is heartbreaking. But I love writing it! And just last week a guy showed up at the end of book 3. I didn’t plan for him; he isn’t in any of my notes or outlines. But there he was and I know he has a story to tell. I just have to wait for him to tell me.

Q:  Which one of your covers is your favorite and why?

Well so far I have just the two. But the second one I like the best. I think the characters on the front more closely resemble what I have in my head.

Q:  When you are writing, who is in control? You or your characters?

My characters are completely in control. But I think it is so much fun!

Q:  What books can we expect to see in the near future?

Book three will be out this summer. I have started a second series and the first two novels should be out by the end of the year. The first novel in that series is so haunting and intense! Really, the whole second series has a very different tone than the first.

And this new guy who showed up in the third book of my first series is definitely going to have his own story and he has a couple of Alpha friends  that will get their stories told as well.

Q:  Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

www.olivianight.weebly.com

https://www.facebook.com/olivianightauthor/

And you can follow me (on Twitter) @olivianightread

Please join me on Sunda when we read an excerpt from Olivia’s third book. ~Tina

 

