AuThursday – Vicki Batman

03-26-15-vlmb-head-on-hand-in-pink-sweater-11Please welcome Vicki Batman, sassy writer of sexy and funny fiction, to the Clog Blog.  Vicki, tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I am the oldest of four girls and was raised in the suburbs. I have always been an avid reader. I love kitties. I married Handsome and have two sons and a daughter.

What are you working on at the minute?

I’m working on Temporarily Out of Luck and it is driving me crazy! But I made a few changes and am adding some stuff; so it should come along after a while. And another holiday story. And a super secret project.

What genre are your books?

Romantic comedy and mystery

Have you written any other novels in collaboration with other writers?

Sorta. I’ve been in three-holiday anthologies, the third releases November, 1 and is entitled Season of Promises. I’ve had an essay in the Sisters Born, Sisters Found anthology which celebrates sisterhood of all kinds, and a story in Lavender Dreams, an anthology about how cancer touches lives.

Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just to see where an idea takes you?

I am a pantser. I DO have the hook, the black moment, and the end, but lots of stuff has to happen in the middle to make the book. Sigh, that’s the hard part.

Do you ever get writer’s Block?

I call it writer stuck. Like I explained in Temporarily Out of Luck, something was not working. I went over and over and thought it was the time line. Moved something and bingo! Was able to add bits and get the story moving again. I won’t be satisfied for a long while.

I see you’ve started a TEMPORARILY Series with Wild Rose Press, what are your thoughts on writing a book series?

It can be difficult to keep all the characters straight. I don’t want the second book to rehash the first book. And when I wrote Temporarily Employed, bits for Temporarily Insane began revealing itself. It’s fun and I love my characters.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Write! Wright Tight! And take the criticism. Keep what you need and toss the rest. Don’t let anyone define you and your work, but you. Don’t live in fear. As the heroine in “Strictly Ballroom” says, a life lived in fear is a life half-lived. Live your life adventure.

Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?

Website:http://vickibatman.blogspot.com/p/more-about-me.html

Facebook: http://bit.ly/293iZIz

Twitter: https://twitter.com/VickiBatman/

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/vickibatman/

Author Central: https://www.amazon.com/author/vickibatman/

Email: vlmbatman@hotmail.com/

Join me on Saturday when we read a Sexy Excerpt from Vicki’s book Temporarily Insane. ~Tina

 

9 comments on “AuThursday – Vicki Batman

  1. vicki says:

    Hi, Tina! Thank you so much for having me today, hair day! I live for hair day. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Melissa Keir says:

    It’s wonderful to always read more about authors you love! Vicki’s books are funny and sassy, just like her!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kathryn Jane says:

    Writer stuck, I like that one!

    Like

  4. Angela says:

    Looking forward to the next read in the “Temporarily” series!

    Like

    • vicki says:

      Hi, Angela! If only I could keep my seat in the chair thingy. Sigh. Too much personal life. I get in an hour here and there.

      Like

  5. Great tips and inspiration, Vicki!

    Like

    • vicki says:

      Hi, Ann! So nice to meet you today. I hope you can check out my funny work and let me know what you think. Hugs!

      Like

Comments are closed.