Valentine’s Day Blog Hop – Tina’s TOP 15 most Romantic Movies

Welcome to another Blog Hop – if you are just joining, you can start the hop here. 

http://justromance.me/bloghop

I actually went looking for romantic movies and then was disappointed when I hadn’t seen half of them and only owned one.  So I thought I’d pull from my actual movie collection and list the movies I find the most romantic.

15.  Look Who’s Talking – I always thought the beginning should be used for Sex Ed. 

14.  Housesitter – I love Goldie Hawn’s Comedic Presence and the fabrication in this movie.  It’s both funny and the first time I watched it, I misted up a bit.

13. True Lies – befor Arnold was the Governor, he was an actor.  This movie has perfect comedic elements for his action style.  It’s also one of the only movies I remember Tom Arnold in.  You can also see see Jamie Lee Curtis gettin’ her funk on. 

12.  Overboard – Another Goldie Hawn movie with her longtime beau Kurt Russell.  This was on the Romantic Movie List.

11.  For Richer or Poorer – I love seeing Tim Allen and Kirstie Alley reconnect in an Amish Setting.  It’s pretty funny too.

10.  Disney’s Beauty and the Beast – The first time I saw this movie, I sobbed at the end when Beauty admits, “but I love you…”

9.  Romancing the Stone – Any Romance author can appreciate Joan Wilder writing during the Bodice Ripper era…the opening scene is priceless.   To watch Joan in her own romantic adventure is entertaining beyond words.

8.  Crocodile Dundee – Who doesn’t like the idea of a guy who knows his way around the bush and can kill a croc with a knife…

7.  Yours, Mine and Ours – Another in my tear-jerker collection.

6.  CutThroat Island – While not Romantic per say, there is a nice sexual energy by both lead characters.

5.  Beautician and the Beast – All around fun

4.  Love Potion #9 – Nerds need love too.

3.  Underworld – Vampires and Werewolves are just plain SEXY.

2.  The Mummy – Seeing Brendan Fraser as an action hero was nice…and while this movie is mostly sexual tension with a hint of romantic beginnings.  The second movie, “The Mummy Returns”  really brings out the love.

 

AND FINALLY my number one movie choice

 

1. 10 things I hate about you – Maybe it’s because of Heath Ledger, maybe it’s because it’s based loosely off my favorite Shakespeare play…but I heart this movie.

So what romantic movies are in your home collection?

Tina 

28 comments on “Valentine’s Day Blog Hop – Tina’s TOP 15 most Romantic Movies

  1. Virginia Cavanaugh says:

    One of my all time favs is Romancing the Stone. 😀
    But I would add Shakespeare in Love, Somersby, Somewhere in Time, and The Notebook.

    Like

  2. Dianne Barskey says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    I think that Beverly Hills Chihuahua is a great movie. It reminds me of all that my husband went through to get me.

    Like

  3. Darkreade says:

    I love Romancing The Stone! Another great one is
    Over Board!

    Like

  4. Maddy Barone says:

    I love several of those you listed. It makes me think I need to see Romancing the Stone again. My list of off-the-wall romantic movies include Oscar, What’s Up Doc and All of Me.

    Like

  5. Lisa Fox says:

    Romancing the Stone is definitely one of my favorites. Great list!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  6. Cindy L says:

    I haven’t thought about this one in a while…Paperback Hero is one that I love and I’ve only seen it once many years ago. It was my first introduction to Hugh Jackman. He played a romance author that wrote under his friend’s name. It was such a cute movie. Hmm…now I going to have to hunt this one down so I can watch it again!

    Like

  7. Great list of movies….Love Underworld….

    Like

  8. Kristi says:

    Underworld is one of my favorites too 🙂 Great blog post!

    Like

  9. Donna says:

    I think my favorites are I.Q. and Practical Magic. I.Q. is such a great flick!

    Like

  10. Cathy M says:

    Great list, Tina. One of my favorite’s is The Big Easy with Dennis Quaid and Ellen Barkin. Love those sexy Cajun drawls.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

    Like

  11. Selena says:

    I think my favorite is The Notebook. It gets me every time.

    Like

  12. Beth C. says:

    My fave romantic movie is Moonstruck. Loved that one. Have to see if I can find a DVD for it.

    Like

  13. Joder says:

    Interesting selection of movies you listed. Of the ones you listed, Romancing the Stone & Underworld are my favorites. I also recommend Pride & Prejudice with Keira Knightley to those looking for a romantic movie.

    joderjo402 AT gmail DOT com

    Like

  14. Rae M. says:

    I love that you mentioned The Mummy! I swear,every time that movie comes on I watch it as if I’ve never seen it.The same with Overboard. I also love Yours, Mine and Ours. Not sure if you meant the original, but if you did, I’m right there with you!

    Some of mine…I know they’re more centered on Christmas, but I still love them and that’s The Family Stone and Love Actually. Also if anyone has ever seen it Blind Date is also on my list. I could keep going, but I’ll stop now!

    Oh and I too thought the same thing about Look Who’s Talking!

    Like

  15. Rae M. says:

    Okay I can’t believe I forgot to mention this seeing as how it’s one of my favorittes. But I love Return to Me. Awesome movie!

    Like

  16. Stephanie says:

    *le sigh* Heath *le sigh*

    Though it is a Excellent List, A Knight’s Tale is needed! I’d also like to add Serendipity!

    Like

  17. jayzee says:

    I’m not much for movies …but I LOVE “Beauty and the Beast. Give me a good fairy tale romance any day!

    Like

  18. Judy Cox says:

    My favorite all time movie is a romance-Somewhere in Time!!! It is a time travel movie!!

    Like

  19. Betty says:

    My all time favorite is Gone With the Wind. I also like when Harry met Sally, and An affair to Rember. I love all romantic movies especially with a strong lady in them….

    Like

  20. Denise Fortowsky says:

    I loved True Lies, Message in a Bottle and The Notebook. Happy Valentines Day!

    Like

  21. Sonya says:

    My Favorite is Ghost, Dirty Dancing, Sweet Home Alabama and Pretty Woman and that is just a a few

    Like

  22. Gabrielle says:

    Lots of great movie picks!
    I’m not real big on romantic movies but I do have P. S. I love you in my collection.

    Like

  23. Patricia K says:

    Dirty Dancing and Dirty Dancing-Havana Nights & Ladder 49 and Ghost

    Like

  24. Kim S. says:

    Pretty Woman and Dirty Dancing are the only ones in my collection. Pitiful huh?

    But I’ll second all of the movies you’ve listed Tina! I’ve seen all but one! Not bad. LOL

    Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

    Kim

    Like

  25. I usually just watch movies on Netflix, but I love and own Jerry Maguire and Top Gun 🙂 *Thanks* for the giveaway!

    Like

  26. SarahM says:

    I love 10 Things I Hate About You! So romantic and funny 🙂

    smaccall @ comcast.net

    Like

  27. Jolene Allcock says:

    I love Romancing the Stone, and haven’t seen Love Potion Number 9 in years. I know what I’m adding to my Netflix LOL Some of my fav. romance movies are The Notebook, A Walk to Remember and Unhitched

    Happy Valentines Day

    june111(at)att(dot)net

    Like

  28. LLL says:

    I have 10 Things I Hate About You and love that movie. Another favorite of all time is Princess Bride.

    Like

Comments are closed.