AuThursday – Lisette Blythe

LeslieHeadshots_006Welcome Lisette Blythe to the Clog Blog!  Lisette, can you tell us a little about yourself and your background?
Hello there, I’m Lisette Blythe! This is my second year of being published. Last year I released four books. This year looks like it will be the same. My background is in technology. Up until recently my bread and butter had been infrastructure (servers, routers, and switches). Two years ago I made the leap to a less technical role as an IT business analyst. My writing career kicked off by writing fan fiction. It was a moderately popular one in a particular K-pop fandom.
How do you make time to write?
When you have something you like to do, it’s easy to find ways. Sometimes on my lunch break at my 9-5, you can catch me writing on my phone. In the evenings when I have a bit of time to myself, I’ll go back to edit what I wrote.
Do you believe in writer’s block?
Oh yes, very much so. Prior to 2020, it had been over ten years since I’d written anything. I didn’t have it in me. I used to write all the time in high school but the well just dried up.
Tell us a bit about the genre you write and why you love it.

My genre is considered new adult romance. Think college-age love. That time of your lives is about figuring out who you are. We all know that you evolve as you age, but this is a very poignant time in your life when it can mostly be about you and who you want to be.

How are you publishing your recent book and why?
I’m published under a boutique publisher called Three Fortnights Press. They are currently up for an award with AAMBC (make sure you cast your vote! https://theaambcawards.com/vote/). I like having the support of a publisher behind me. Shai (the owner) has done all of this before and has no qualms guiding me through it. Also, she puts up with my general foolishness.
Are you an Introvert or an Extrovert?  How does this affect your work?
I’m an introvert with bursts of extroversion. A lot of my main characters will be introverted. In the second book that comes out this year (September 30th), the main character is incredibly extroverted. It wasn’t difficult to write because I just drew on what happens when I’m around my friends with good music and booze.
What is your favorite motivational phrase?
“I don’t work 40 hours a week to not be able to afford lotion in my tissues.”
It sounds ridiculous, doesn’t it? I’m making a point. I work hard. I’m a wife and a mom. I have a 9-5 and write. On top of all of that, I go to conventions to sell my books. At the end of the day, all of that allows me to do the things I want to do, so I’m going to do them!
What advice would you give to aspiring writers?
Just write. Write what you know, write what you don’t. You can always edit.
Where can readers find you on the World Wide Web?
I am what is known as chronically online. Comes from being in technology (though my husband, also in technology would say the devil is a lie.) Catch me on TikTok, Facebook, and Twitter as @lisetteblythe.
Instagram is lisetteblythe5 because whoever owns lisetteblythe won’t give it up. I have a discord where people come and talk about the most random of things. We also talk about the books we’re currently reading. You can find that here: https://discord.gg/TKDFJmK3CZ
Do you have an excerpt you’d like to share with us?
Actually, if you are so inclined, you can get the first four chapters of my book which comes out in June for free!
1000005047Glory: A Sorority Rejects Tale is the story of understanding you aren’t what everyone tells you that you are. Grab those chapters from here: https://dl.bookfunnel.com/bev73s5svs

One comment on “AuThursday – Lisette Blythe

  1. Mia says:

    yay Lisette!

    Like

Comments are closed.